Celebrating the courage and creativity of some of the world’s greatest journalists, artists, campaigners and digital activists since 2000.

The 2019 Freedom of Expression Awards Fellows (from left): Carolina Botero Cabrera, executive director of digital activism award-winning Fundación Karisma; Journalism award-winning journalist Mimi Mefo; Terry Anderson, deputy executive director of campaigning award-winning Cartoonist Rights Network International; Arts award-winning Zehra Doğan. (Photo: Elina Kansikas for Index on Censorship)
Index on Censorship Freedom of Expression Awards and Fellowship 2018
2017 Freedom of Expression Awards link

Support the Index Awards.

By donating to the Freedom of Expression Awards you help us support individuals and groups at the forefront of tackling censorship.

Find out more

Index logo white

Join us to protect and promote freedom of speech in the UK and across the world.
Since 1972, Index on Censorship has been leading the campaign for free expression.
Our award-winning magazine originally provided the platform for the untold stories of dissidents and resistance from behind the Iron Curtain and is now a home for some of the greatest campaigning writers of our age.
Journalistic freedom, artistic expression, the right to protest, the right to speak your mind, wherever you live.  These are the founding principles of Index on Censorship.
So join us, by subscribing to our newsletter or making a donation, to use your voice to ensure that everyone else can be heard too.
Go to the Index on Censorship home page