Line up of libel reform working group announced
27 Jan 10

The full membership of the Justice Department’s libel working group, which convenes tomorrow (28 January), has been announced. The working group will be chaired by Rowena Collins-Rice, Director-General, Democracy, Constitution and Law and Chief Legal Officer at the Ministry of Justice.

The members are:

David Banks (Media Law Consultant) @DBanksy

Tracey Brown (Sense About Science) @freedebate

Sir Leszek Borysiewicz (Chief Executive of the Medical Research Council)

Desmond Browne QC (Barrister, 5 Raymond Buildings)

Rod Christie-Miller (Partner and Chief Executive at Schillings, Solicitors)

Robin Esser (Executive Managing Editor, Daily Mail)

Jo Glanville (Editor, Index on Censorship) @Indoncensorship

Jonathan Heawood (Director, English PEN) @jheawood

Tony Jaffa (Head of the Media Team at Foot Anstey, Solicitors)

Sarah Jones (Head of Litigation and Intellectual Property, BBC)

Marcus Partington (Chair of Media Lawyers Association, and Legal Director, Mirror Group Newspapers)

Gillian Phillips (Director of Editorial Legal Services, The Guardian)

Gavin Phillipson (Professor at Durham Law School)

Mark Stephens (Partner at Finers Stephens Innocent, Solicitors) @markslarks

Andrew Stephenson (Partner at Carter Ruck, Solicitors)

Paul Tweed (Senior Partner at Johnsons, Solicitors)

John Witherow (Editor, Sunday Times)