Index on Censorship Award winners 2002
These are the winners of the 2002 Index on Censorship Freedom of Expression Awards
01 Mar 02

Most Courageous Defence of Free Expression 

Anna Politkovskaya was an internationally recognised Russian journalist with the newspaper Novaya Gazeta who reported on human rights violations in Chechnya and corruption of governmental officials. She was killed in the elevator of her apartment building on 7 October 2006.

Best Circumvention of Censorship

Şanar Yurdatapan is a Turkish composer and song writer who campaigns against the prosecution of publishers by the Turkish authorities.

International Whistleblower of the Year

Jiang Weiping is a Chinese journalist who was arrested by the Communist Party of China and sentenced to 8 year’s imprisonment in 2001 for exposing government corruption. He was released on 4 January 2006.

Award for Services to Censorship

The Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi was given this precious award for his increasingly authoritarian grip on the Italian media.