Index Awards 2017: Celebrating defenders of free expression

The Freedom of Expression Awards and Fellowship is a key Index on Censorship programme designed to highlight and amplify the work of some of the world’s most courageous defenders of freedom of expression. Previous winners include Journalist Fergal Keane, novelist Ma Jian, lawyer Beatrice Mtetwa, activist Malala Yousafzai, cartoonist Ali Ferzat, journalists Anna Politkovskaya and Fergal Keane, and Bahrain Center for Human Rights. Learn more.