Speaking out: Voicing movements in the face of censorship

When: Tuesday 25 September 7:30 PM BST/2:30 PM EDT/1:30PM CDT/11:30AM PDT
Where: Online Webinar.
Tickets: Free. Registration required

Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of various fiction works including Little & Lion, a story that touches on the intersection of race, sexuality and religion
Brandy Colbert
Alex Gino, author of George, an award-winning and heartwarming middle grade book about a transgender girl (Wikipedia)
Alex Gino
Marni Brown, acclaimed author of Gendered Lives, Sexual Beings, a textbook lauded for its intersectional framework, and an assistant professor of sociology at Georgia Gwinnett College (Photo: Georgia Gwinnett College)
Marni Brown
Jemimah Steinfeld is the deputy editor of Index on Censorship magazine.
Jemimah Steinfeld

Whether focused on race, gender equality, sexual orientation or mental health, movements are growing at a rapid speed due to digital media, demonstrations and published works. Yet the growth and prevalence of advocacy can make it easy to forget that these voices rose above their silencers’ attempt at censorship. 

Join the Index on Censorship, American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom and SAGE Publishing for “Speak Out: Voicing Movements in the Face of Censorship.” In this Banned Books Week webinar, authors will engage in conversation on writing, activism and speaking out. How have they used their words to speak out about something that has been silenced? What is the difference between being a voice of and for a movement? And what will it take for the USA to be censorship free in both oral and written word?

Featured speakers include:

  • Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of various fiction works including Little & Lion, a story that touches on the intersection of race, sexuality and religion
  • Alex Gino, author of George, an award-winning and heartwarming middle grade book about a transgender girl
  • Marni Brown, acclaimed author of Gendered Lives, Sexual Beings, a textbook lauded for its intersectional framework, and an assistant professor of sociology at Georgia Gwinnett College

The link to the webinar will be shared closer to the time.

The webinar will be moderated by Jemimah Steinfeld, deputy editor of Index on Censorship magazine

When: Tuesday 25 September 7:30 PM BST/2:30 PM EDT/1:30PM CDT/11:30AM PDT
Where: Online Webinar.
Tickets: Free. Registration required

In partnership with:

Comments are closed.