Index on Censorship’s Freedom of Expression Awards celebrate those who have had significant impact fighting censorship anywhere in the world. There are three categories: Arts, Campaigning and Journalism.

Winners are honoured at a gala celebration in London and join Index’s Awards Fellowship programme to receive dedicated training and support. The panel of judges for the 2021 Freedom of Expression Awards include writer and columnist Fatima Bhutto, award-winning sculptor Anish Kapoor and Ailbhe Smyth, founding director of the Women’s Education, Resource and Research Centre, University College Dublin.

The 21st Annual Freedom of Expression Awards were held on Sunday 12 September in London.


There are many ways you can sponsor the Awards, and support not only the winners but all the work Index does.

Please see our sponsorship packages here or contact [email protected] .org for more information.


Freedom of Exrpession Awards 2021


The 2021 Freedom of Expression Awards winners were announced at a ceremony in London. This special event seeks to celebrate free expression activists and champions. Actress Tracy-Ann Oberman served as ceremony compere


The Freedom of Expression Awards Fellowship exists to celebrate individuals or groups who have had a significant impact fighting censorship anywhere in the world. Through the fellowship, Index works with the winners to provide tailored support.

The winners of the 2021 Freedom of Expression Awards are: Kyrgyz artist Tatyana Zelenskaya (arts); imprisoned Egyptian human rights activist Abdelrahman ‘Moka’ Tarek (campaigning); Nigerien blogger and journalist Samira Sabou (journalism), and British academic and free expression activist Dr Arif Ahmed (trustee award).

Previous winners include courageous Honduran investigative journalist Wendy Funes who uncovers corruption and covers the ongoing violations of women’s rights in the country, and anonymous Chinese digital activists GreatFire who have secured significant additional funding since their award.

Click here to find out more about previous winners.

The 2021 Freedom of Expression Awards were sponsored by Facebook, Microsoft,
Times and Sunday Times, and Sage

If you are interested in sponsorship you can contact [email protected]